Ambassador Antonio Garza to highlight Kansas City Southern’s Champion of Enterprise Award


Ambassador Antonio Garza to highlight Kansas City Southern’s Champion of Enterprise Award

Ambassador Antonio Garza (Ret.) will keynote the Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s 2013 Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet, helping highlight the presentation of the Champion of Enterprise Award to one of Kansas City’s oldest and most respected companies, Kansas City Southern.

The event will be held at Union Station, 30 W Pershing Rd, Kansas City, MO, on November 14, 2013, from 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.  Ambassador Garza will be speaking at approximately 8:30 p.m. and the award presentation to Kansas City Southern will be at 9:00 p.m. Kansas City Southern’s top executives and members of its board of directors will be in attendance to accept the award.   

As the 20th Anniversary of the North American Trade Agreement approaches, Ambassador Garza, the former U.S. Ambassador to Mexico, will discuss the impact this agreement has had on our nation and in Mexico. He also will look to the future of NAFTA and the continued growth for North America.

The Champion of Enterprise Award is the Missouri Chamber’s top award presented to a long-standing Missouri company that has made significant contributions to our state’s economy and corporate history. 

In addition to Champion of Enterprise, Kansas City Southern, the Missouri Chamber also will honor an impressive list of business, community and legislative award winners.  A full list of the awards follows this release.

Members of the media are welcome to attend any portion of the event. Please alert Karen Buschmann of your attendance so that space can be reserved. Buschmann can be reached at, or by phone at 573-634-3511 (office) or 573-694-4271 (cell).



Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry
2013 Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet Award Winners


2013 Champion of Enterprise
Kansas City Southern, Kansas City

2013 Fast Track Awards
Addison Biological Lab, Inc., Fayette
Gasket Engineering Co., Inc., Kansas City
Moresource, Columbia
New Horizons Enterprises, Kansas City
Smokin’ Guns BBQ, North Kansas City
Safety National, St. Louis
3 Interactive, Columbia

2013 Chamber of Commerce of the Year Award
Waynesville-St. Robert Chamber of Commerce

2013 Education Innovator of the Year
Cerner, Kansas City

2013 Prosperity Award
Saint Luke’s Health Systems, Kansas City


2013 Leadership Missouri Graduate Lifetime Achievement Award
Becky James-Hatter, President/CEO of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri, St. Louis

2013 Legislative Freshmen of the Year
Sen. Ryan Silvey, Kansas City
Rep. Kathy Swan, Cape Girardeau

2013 Spirit of Enterprise Awards
Sen. Will Kraus, Lee’s Summit
Rep. Eric Burlison, Springfield
Rep. Mike Cierpiot, Lee’s Summit

2013 Man in the Arena
Sen. Tom Dempsey, St. Charles


100% Club

Sen. Mike Cunningham, Marshfield
Sen. Brian Munzlinger, Clarence
Sen. Ron Richard, Joplin
Sen. Jay Wasson, Nixa

Rep. Kevin Austin, Springfield
Rep. Sandy Crawford, Buffalo
Rep. Bill Lant, Joplin
Rep. Jeannie Riddle, Mokane
Rep. Kathy Swan, Cape Girardeau



This entry was posted in Uncategorized by mochamber. Bookmark the permalink.

About mochamber

The Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry understands that the quality of life in our state depends on quality jobs for Missourians. To that end, we have one simple mission: to protect and advance Missouri business.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s